My Albums


Ariel Kalma is the kind of musician that collectors live their lives to find at the bottom of a dollar record bin, and the kind who fellow musicians hope to become. He is a composer who worked on the periphery of a fringe movement, whose early adherents have recently seen an explosion in popularity...

- Vivian Hua,

More reviews


Meditation in the Forest

Music and Birds in Harmony

Birds and nature sounds are the ambient inspiration for this album, accompanied by modal keyboards, synth, flutes, saxophones and voices. Ariel composed with the forest's melodies and rhythms like in his 1978 cult album Osmose. Another breath of fresh air to relax, go inside and connect with all existence.

Meditation in the Forest is conceived as a continuous album. Although each track can be heard individually, the contemplative effect will be enhanced by listening all the way through.

Ariel lives near a forest where birds are ever present, and he field-records them. One bird sings such a sweet melody that he composed music to match. He recorded several variations around that melody which you will hear on this recording. Other birds and crickets also played an important role, and he felt privileged to go on a journey with them. Ariel hopes you will journey with us!

Ariel always loved bird songs, they were like a trance for his busy urban mind when he lived in Paris. He copied their melodies while composing… birds inspire him … In 1977, Ariel recorded the LP ‘Osmose’ mixed with Borneo rainforest ambiences. At first, it was not considered musical, but over the years, Osmose has fascinated more and more people. In 2009, he released a more modern version, ‘Osmose 2’, with different nature sounds.

Download individual tracks or the full album

Use the controls on the left to listen to each track or to all of them continuously.

Click buy to buy the album or any track(s) in 320k MP3, FLAC, or just about any other format you could possibly desire. This will include the artwork booklet (cover art) in PDF!

Other downloads:


For more music go to Ariel's catalog.



Watch the whole album "Meditation in the Forest" on YouTube

1. Birds Dreaming - 8:14
- Enter the woods, listen to the joyous birds, greet the trees, smell the air, feel the breeze…

2. Forest Mystics, - 5:48
- Conversation between birds and hidden magical beings under the tree canopy.

3. Meditation In The Forest - 6:24
- Fragrant perfume in the air; gentle song of magpies; peace and quiet in nature.

4. Promenade En Foret- 10:40
- Walking on soft moss, one can almost touch the vibes of an elusive omnipresence.

5. Tree Melody - 6:24
- If the woods could sing, they would chant the beauty of secret worlds waiting to be discovered.

6. Twilight- 3:53
- Crickets mark the onset of darkness, and the afterglow between the branches seem otherworldly..

7. Floating Escape - 8:01
- Night feels weightless, ethereal; we could easily space travel and visit the cosmos.

8. Birds Softly Calling- 7:24
- Listen to the birds, they sing of a paradise on earth for all who have eyes to seek.